Mozy at Bell Harbor Rendezvous 2012. [Photos by Tom Brayton.]
In June of 1952, Howard "Krinky" Goldsorthy approached Ed Monk Sr. to design a 42' yacht. Because of Krinky's experience as a commercial fisherman and tug boat operator he told monk he wanted a beamy boat with a dry stack and air actuated throttle and shift. He also specified a 32-volt electrical system. In 1953 Krinky contracted with Shane boatyard in Everett to build the boat.
The hull was constructed of double planked mahogany glued and fastened. At that time war surplus Gray Marine diesel engines were available and that was what was used for power. In 1965 John Van Luven bought the boat and named it Mar Mar (for his two daughters.) In 1980 John Miller purchased her and changed the name to Mozy. Jerry Walker purchased the boat in 1984 and it remains in the Tacoma Yacht Club as Mozy.